Book Review

Legal by Bree Dahlia

** * *  Disclaimer: Review copy provided by Xpresso Book Tours and/or Publisher/ Author

Legal

Legal 
by Bree Dahlia
Publication date: July 20th 2016
Genres: Adult, Comedy, Romance

Over-all rating of the book: 3.5 stars

 

Blurb:

Taboo. Wrong. Off limits.
I know the drill. I know the rules.
But damn, if he doesn’t get under my skin.
And into my bed.

There’s no reason for a woman like me,
Successful, established, independent,
To ever be sleeping with a younger man.
A younger man with a hard, rugged, sculptured body.
A body that can go all night.
All night.

I can’t resist, can’t turn him down.
Can’t walk away.
Because I’ve never known pleasure like this.
Chase Nolan walked into my life and disrupted my perfect little world.
And made it so much better.

Enjoy it while you can, Jillian.
Because there’s no way there’s a future for us.
After all, is he barely even legal?

 

Personal Rating Breakdown: (5 stars being the highest)

  • Cover: 4 stars 
  • Page-turner: 3.5 stars
  • Romantic Excitement (Kilig* Factor): 3 stars
  • Imagery Rating: 3.5 stars
  • Steampunk-ness: 5 stars 

Wow. I just can’t form coherent thoughts after reading the book. It took me like seven long minutes to actually assess myself if I liked the book or not. This is my first time reading an Adult/Erotica novel with an older women/younger men plot of story. I was hesitant at first but I gave it a try because the blurb is interesting and I read almost anything anyway. HA! 

Although, it was a little too late to turn my back because I was cringe-reading on some parts of the book.

I did like the story towards the end, so that’s one of the factors why it’s a 3.5 for me and not 2 instead.

I don’t know why it just didn’t work for me, so I’d probably rather talk about the things I liked about this book. 

I like the way how Chase flirts like a man despite his age.

I like the way he charms his way to Jillian’s heart. He is observant and thoughtful and romantic.

I like the way Jillian thinks and how she firmly stands on her decision. I didn’t find her stubbornness annoying.

I like her maturity. I think in way, I sort of related to her that I almost always forget that she is supposed to be older.

I like the way it ended. It showed how their relationship is heading in the end.

To end my review, I think in reading this book made me more open to this kind of genre. I’m not saying it’s too bad, but I’m not saying it’s that good too. It’s interesting and fun though. We just have different preferences in books. 🙂

If the blurb interests you, do check it out and let me know what you think.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

